Hiveless Mind



Flock 1.0

I am writing this using the Flock 1.0 beta. And no, I don’t even have a WordPress window up, I’m using the browser’s built-in blog post editor.
For those who have not been initiated into the great cult that is Flock, Flock is a free web browser (available at www.flock.com) which is seamlessly integrated blogging services (Blogger, WordPress, Blogsome, Xanga, Livejournal, or a privately hosted blog), photo/video sharing services (currently Flickr, Photobucket, YouTube and Piczo), and social networking sites (Facebook and Twitter, but only in the 1.0 beta). What this means is that you can use most features of those services directly from the browser, never even having to visit those sites. I’ve been using Flock for…about a year now I think, and I’ve been thoroughly satisfied with it. I’d guess that most people reading this post are using Firefox, the current most popular browser, and I’d just like to let you know that Flock is based on the open source Gecko software, which is the main core of Firefox as well. The practical upshot of all this is that Flock can do everything Firefox can, as well as its added features. One warning, however: the ‘wonderbrowser’ does not support Firefox extensions natively, but there are many extensions for Flock, which are available at the Flock website. Oh, and it has a pretty user interface.
The Flock beta, 1.0, introduces many new features, including the People sidebar, which allows you to monitor your friends and messages from YouTube, Flickr, Facebook, and Twitter, and a better RSS reader. Also, many bits of the user interface have been redone, making it better integrated with other parts of the browser, and the My World page (which displays your feeds, favorite sites, and recent media) has had a minor upgrade.
To sum it all up, I recommend anyone who’s not using Flock should switch to it right now, and I’d like to rub the fact that I’m a beta tester in your face. đŸ˜‰
~Hawk

Blogged with Flock

Tags: , , , ,

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Michael says:

    If I ever get a new computer I’m going to use Flock, now that I’m blogging and use FaceBook sometimes.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  2. * Hawk says:

    Keep in mind that FaceBook compatibility is only on the public beta, but at some point it will be on the release version. There is a linux version, which should run on your current computer, but I’m not sure how the performance would be, you’d have to try it yourself.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  3. * m1chael says:

    lol remember my comp crashed and im on my dads XPnub

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  4. * Hawk says:

    Oh yeahhhhh…

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  5. * Michael says:

    OMG lyssas awesome

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  6. * Hawk says:

    That’s nice.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  7. * kardanok says:

    Sounds pretty impressive. Where can you sign up for the beta?

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  8. * Hawk says:

    Uhh…I signed up on the Flock web site. I’m not sure if the beta’s still available.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago


Leave a Reply

