Hiveless Mind



The Rise and Fall of the Microsoft Empire

DISCLAMER: I mean no offense to Microsoft or it’s users, this is simply my opinion. If you don’t like it, don’t read it. Or better yet, tell me why you disagree. But be civil, please. I’d rather not start a flame war, but I’d love to hear what your opinion is. Keep in mind that I am a Macintosh user. I use the Macintosh because I like it, it fits my needs and works well for my purposes. Many of you are Windows users, and I assume some of you use Windows because you like it, or because it fits your needs (that means you, Nick). I don’t mean any offense to any of you.
 
Microsoft is dying. Not literally, of course, but figuratively. Its golden age is over, and the computing giant is on a decline. It’s not going to go belly-up today, or tomorrow, in fact, probably not for several years. But Microsoft, in my opinion, is going steadily downhill. Why? Let’s examine the facts. Windows, even the most recent Windows Vista, at its core is DOS. DOS is an operating system which was originally created before 1980, and has hardly been updated since then (DOS, or as it was first called, QDOS originally stood for ‘Quick and Dirty Operating System’, but when it was bought by Microsoft, the name was changed to ‘Disk Operating System’). In fact, Windows was first made as a simple graphical shell for DOS. You might argue that the recent Mac operating systems, which are based off of a Unix kernel. Unix is an operating system which first was written in the ’70s and ’80s. However, the Darwin kernel that OS X uses is based off FreeBSD, a freeware operating system which has been constantly evolving. One of Microsoft’s major downfalls is that most software is still being written for that 1995 chassis, which is hopelessly outdated, and preventing the company from evolving.

Another one of Microsoft’s major downfalls is the popularity (or non-popularity, as the case may be) of it’s latest operating system, Windows Vista. The operating system that Microsoft took 5 years to develop is, quite frankly, a flop. Many major businesses and organizations have switched back to Windows XP, or (as I would recommend) to Mac OS X. I’m sure you heard about how the Olympic Committee plans to use XP instead of Vista for the next Olympic Games.  Also, the bloggers, who seem to control the industry, are ranting about the failure of the buggy OS. Even many hardcore Windows fanboys (and fangirls) have rejected the new Microsoft OS. As tech blogger/vlogger Chris Pirillo says, “Maybe they’ll fix it by Service Pack Two, but maybe I really won’t care. By then I’ll be on the Mac.”

Also, the products of Apple Inc, Microsoft’s main competitor, have been steadily increasing in popularity. The main reason many people don’t use Apple’s operating system, Mac OS X, is because less software is compatible with it. However, as more and more people switch to the Mac, more software companies will write applications for the Macintosh. This is already in effect. In addition, with the release of Macintosh computers with Intel microprocessors. it is now possible to dual-boot OS X and Windows on a Macintosh computer, as well as use virtualization or emulation software that allows Windows applications to run natively in the Mac operating system. VMware, a major virtualization software company, has announced that it is currently beta testing the next version of VMware Fusion, which will allow you to run DirectX 9 applications on the Macintosh, a major boost for Mac gaming.

All in all, it is my opinion that Microsoft is steadily declining. However, if you agree with me, or if you don’t, I’d love it if you leave your opinion in the comment box below.

~Hawk

Blogged with Flock

Tags: , , , , , ,

Comments

  1. * Michael says:

    Macs are overpriced, and are only useful to a couple groups of computer users in my opinion: designers and students. The Macintosh operating system, OS X, is only available on Macintosh machines, where as you can have any make of computer and run Windows on it.

    As far as business goes, Microsoft machines are cheaper. If they’re not using Linux or UNIX, a large business will use Windows. That’s the bottom line, sorry. The same with gaming. Microsoft dominates the market for computer games. The section of a store where you can buy them is labeled PC Games. With that said, isn’t it obvious that they’re not going to make them compatible with their arch-rival?

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 9 months ago
  2. * Michael says:

    I remember what else I was going to say:

    If you’ve ever tried Service Pack 1 of Windows XP, you wouldn’t be mocking Vista. I ran the former for the greater part of 4 years, and know how horrible an operating system it was. The only parts of Vista that aren’t going to be fixed when Service Pack 2 comes out will be parts that don’t need to be fixed, things that are just different, and will take some getting used to. Think about when you switched from 2000 to XP, or 98 to XP for some people. Big difference, huh?

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 9 months ago
  3. * Hawk says:

    “Macs are overpriced, and are only useful to a couple groups of computer users in my opinion: designers and students. The Macintosh operating system, OS X, is only available on Macintosh machines, where as you can have any make of computer and run Windows on it.

    As far as business goes, Microsoft machines are cheaper. If they’re not using Linux or UNIX, a large business will use Windows. That’s the bottom line, sorry. The same with gaming. Microsoft dominates the market for computer games. The section of a store where you can buy them is labeled PC Games. With that said, isn’t it obvious that they’re not going to make them compatible with their arch-rival?”

    First place: Apple’s prices are decreasing. Not as fast as some of us would like, but they’re getting cheaper. On the other hand, you do have a point about OS X only running on Apple hardware.

    Second place: What is a ‘Microsoft machine’ anyway? Microsoft is a software company, they don’t produce hardware. Sure, you could argue that most Dell or HP computers are cheaper then Apple machines, but that’s not completely true. Some Dell machines are much more expensive then other apple machines, and vice versa. Also: PC games? PC stands for ‘Personal Computer’, meaning any computer designed to be used by one person. Many people believe that it is related to Microsoft’s Windows operating system, but there’s no connotation with Microsoft at all.

    Keep in mind that I’m not saying Microsoft is dead; they aren’t dead yet, and they won’t be anywhere near dead for quite a while. But their business is declining, albeit slowly. And that’s all I’m trying to say.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 9 months ago
  4. * Michael says:

    I’m fairly sure Microsoft owns (or at least has a huge ammount of stock in) some hardware companies. And yes, I know what PC stands for! Nonetheless, most people consider PC to have some correlation with Microsoft.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 9 months ago
  5. * Paul says:

    The argument that a windows based machne is cheaper is on the face of it an incorrect assertion , however one fact seems to have been missed. How often does the average PC last? I know from my own expereince that I was forced to buy a new PC when I went to XP. Remember 4 years ago I tried running XP on my former set up and I simply did not have enouigh RAm and the new applications wouldn’t really run on well enough on Windows 2K. Also Internet explorer 7 will not run on XP now too! This is the biigest thing that pisses me off about MS . Almost Every time they bring out a new version of word or whatever I am effectively forced to upgrade to new version of word or excel and these certainly are not cheap. On top of this I find I need a faster computer to run theses apps. This planed obsolescents imy experience means an avearge life of about 3-4 years.
    Now I also bought 7 years ago a mac lap top. It is still running as fast as the day I bought it and in some respects it actually runs faster due to the fact that Apple has made the OS faster. I’m going to buy a new core duo MAc soon and I expect it to last at least 5 years and form what I have heard the new OS due out this summer has a performance speed up of some significance. I am not an Apple fan boy, I use both systems and I think Apple is a lot cheaper because not only is the OS cheaper at $129 but I’m not forced to upgarde mu hardware as many times as on PC hardware

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 1 month ago
  6. * Joshua Issac says:

    Windows’s core is DOS? That was in the last millennium.

    DOS has been constantly updated, independently of Windows. Versions of Windows later than Windows 98 don’t even have a real DOS mode. NT versions of Windows (Win2k+) use NTVDM (NT Virtual DOS Machine) to enable compatibility with DOS programs. Now if Vista (NT 6.1) had DOS at its core, why would it need a virtual machine to emulate DOS? Next time, please research sufficiently so that you don’t base arguments on mere assumptions that are incorrect.

    | Reply Posted 3 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

